pip and attendance allowance — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

pip and attendance allowance

Options
hazey067
hazey067 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hi There,I'm very new to this,but can anybody help, I am 65 going on 66,I am on DLA at the moment but have had to apply for PIP as my birthday was just too late,PIP have said I have to go to a centre for face to face assesment, there is no way I can go and have already informed them of this,I have not been outside for over a year (anxiety,pain ,toilet needs etc...embarrasing!!!.Anyway if I get turned down for PIP which I'm almost certain I will after reading on here,does anyone know ,,will I be able to claim Attendance Allowance ? Many thanks in advance x

Comments

• wildlife
    wildlife Community member Posts: 1,293 Pioneering
    Options
    @hazey067 Attendance Allowance is for people who become disabled after reaching their 65th Birthday. You can't apply if you have been on any other disability benefit before that age which you have. I think this is correct but one of the benefit advisors will be along tomorrow to confirm this. But please don't be put off from claiming PIP. From what you've said about going out you should get Mobility if nothing else. They have to accept this if you don't go out at all, but you'll need to get some medical evidence for this and all your other problems. Regarding your assessment you need to ring the number on the appointment letter and tell them you need a home assessment as you can't get to the one they've sent you. There's lots more good advice on here so read as much as you can. If you can see it that you've got the chance to be one step ahead and make sure you don't get caught out like some of us did. X
  • hazey067
    Options