Hi, my name is mushypea! I’ve been awarded DLA for my child, when do payments start?

mushypea
mushypea Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited May 9 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I’ve been awarded DLA for my child , I’m new to all this
I wasn’t aware I was entitled to this help and been struggling for a long while 
working whilst trying to juggle care and health care hospital appointments etc 
I feel like I’ve been drowning for a long time. 
we’ve been given the middle rate 
the decision was made yesterday and we are now waiting for the letter to be sent 
I rang the advice line on Feb the 7th returned form 4 weeks later 
they didn’t scan it on the system until the 13th of March 
(we was moved to a priority case 
as we have a lot off Community care and support also from dwp and they have written to them directly that’s why we was prioritised. So it’s come through quick)
It’s a huge relief 
can anyone please help with when we will start to receive the payments , will they back date it , and when from - and how long does this time . kindest regards from a tired mum. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 59,054 Championing
    It will be paid from the date you rang to start the claim. Money owed will be paid into your bank first and usually it takes 3-5 working days to go into your bank. 4 weeks later you will receive the first 4 weekly payment. The decision letter should arrive within the next 2 weeks and it will tell you what day of the week to expect the money into your bank. 

Are you claiming any other benefits, if so which ones exactly? Do you work? 
  • mushypea
    Thank you poppy 

yes I’ve always worked full time 
    but I’ve had to drop hours as I’m mentally struggling now to juggle it all and I’ve held my hands up and been honest and said I can not physically do it anymore before I have a complete breakdown 
    work have been great and supported my decision 
    they understand how much I’ve tried over the years