Should I use a wheelchair? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Should I use a wheelchair?

Options
katieemma1998
katieemma1998 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hello everyone. I'm new to using forums and being a part of the online community. Basically for about 5 years I have been suffering with severe fatigue, aching muscles and joints, IBS and POTS syndrome. Walking for a short amount of time isn't too bad but if I walk around the shops or go into town with friends I get really bad back, joint and muscle aches, I sweat excessively and I am extremely exhausted for a long while afterwards. Not to mention the constant headaches and feeling lightheaded. I can sleep for around 10-12 hours a night and still be exhausted the next day; I cannot function without at least one nap throughout the day, lasting at least 2-3 hours. I get so embarrassed as I'm only 19 and I don't have the stamina or physical ability like most people my age group. I went to the doctors to have blood tests to see if I may be suffering with anemia, apparently not. My doctor understands how bad I am suffering at the moment so she is going to be doing further tests to see whether I might have M.E (Chronic fatigue syndrome). So basically I just wanted to know if anybody else is maybe experiencing the same problems and whether they found that using a wheelchair would be beneficial. Not everyday, just for when I have bad days or a long day out somewhere. If I'm out on my feet or walking too long, I am usually bedbound for the next few days afterwards. Thank you for taking the time to read my