Severe Disability Premium backpayment. Is it disregarded as capital? Can I spend all this money?

freeallbadgers
freeallbadgers Community member Posts: 8 Connected
Hi everyone,

I'm on Income Related Employment and Support Allowance and PiP.  Recently I was awarded  backpayments for SDP of two amounts, one for around £4000 and the other in the area of £9000.  From what I understand is that both of those payments will be disregarded as savings/capital for 52 weeks and possibly the £9000 payment may be disregarded for the life of the ESA claim but I have had no official acknowledgement of this.

My query is ... can I in theory, just spend all this money?.  Or in a years time will the DWP ask me to justify what I've spent the money on?.  I know I should be grateful/happy for this windfall but my anxious mind can't help thinking there will be a sting in the tail somewhere along the line.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,611 Championing
    Hi @freeallbadgers

I'm sorry that you haven't received an answer to this yet, I just wanted to let you know that your discussion has been tagged as unanswered so hopefully you will receive a reply soon :) 
  • OverlyAnxious
    OverlyAnxious Community member Posts: 3,042 Championing
    I had the same question last year and was never able to find any reliable hard evidence for the 52 week disregard.  Several (trustworthy!) people told me I could spend it without repercussion's in 52 weeks, exactly as you've suggested, and that does seem to have been the case...

It hasn't stopped me worrying about it though!  I don't know about the £9k lifetime disregard.
  • freeallbadgers
    Thank you for your reply @OverlyAnxious.  It does seem difficult to find a definitive answer on this,  I think the DWP prefer everything to be deliberately vague.  The over £5000 disregard came from this site ... https://www.moneyhelper.org.uk direct link:here.

Overpayments are mentioned in two sections :