Chronic migraine - too early to apply for pip? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Chronic migraine - too early to apply for pip?

sunflower
sunflower Community member Posts: 33 Courageous
Hi I have taken the self assessment which says I could be eligible.  I have chronic migraine.  I am a teacher, been off work for 7 months.  Suffering for years with migraines, been getting progressively worse. I am a single mum, with 2 kids under 16 and I am totally desperate.  Have now gone down to half pay.  Their dad lives close by and the kids spend half their time with him.  I barely leave the house. I have seen a neurologist and am due to see him again.  I see my gp regularly and so far the drug treatments do not have much effect.  My migraines roll into each other and I'm either coming out of one in the hangover stage, in the middle of one, or can feel one coming.  If I do get a day where I feel I am going to get my head above water I want to spend it doing nice things with my kids.  But I can't because I am so tired. I seriously do not have any kind of life.  I am desperate.  Should I apply for PIP now or do I have to wait until I have had it for a certain length of time?  I am expecting an appointment through any day from the neurologist, do I have to speak to him about applying or do the dwp get in touch directly?  I am trying to get this straight as it takes me longer to process all this info as my brain is mush now with these migraines.
I'd appreciate advice.  Thanks

Comments

• debsidoo
    debsidoo Community member Posts: 325 Pioneering
    Hi Sunflower