DLA — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

DLA

leahburnett1996
leahburnett1996 Posts: 11 Connected
edited May 2018 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi!!

I’m new here and need advice on finding benefits for my little guy. We are in the process of applying for his first ever DLA due to his physical disability. What do I need to include on the paperwork? Any advice or tips would be appreciated. This is my first time ever applying for any kind of financial assistance for our son. The form came yesterday in the post. Its a killer form of questions to say the least. 

It is full of questions about what he cannot do. I have a few questions about this. How long does it take to get approved by the powers that be? How will I get notified? How do you answer the questions on the form? This form is torture for me. Do I need to include any of his medical records like reports with it or not? Or letters; that way it will be quicker and more efficient than this stupid application form. 

He’s 23 months old now like his twin sister. My son can’t walk unaided. No chance of that happening. He is paralyzed from the waist down because of Spina Bifida. Oh and he also has severe bilateral clubbed feet. 

Comments

• debsidoo
    debsidoo Community member Posts: 325 Pioneering
    Hi leahburnett
    If you have a local Citizens Advice it would probably be best for you to get them to help you fill out the forms.They are experts with them.As for your question about how long it all takes,there will be a date to get forms back make sure you send them signed for and keep a copy of anything you send.
    The Time factor varies from area to area you could have a result in a few weeks or it can take months it just depends on the volume of claims and speed of appointments.
    I would include any medical notes and test results also anything you have from the health visitor to back up your claim.