feeling very anxious about the past and the future - Page 2 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

feeling very anxious about the past and the future

2»

Comments

• onelife
    onelife Community member Posts: 49 Courageous
    Thanks, do you think therapists are any use? I have already seen a few. 
  • Chloe_Scope
    Chloe_Scope Posts: 10,586 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @onelife, I guess this is down to the individual. I'm not a medical professional so can't advise fully, but I know it's important to have a therapist that you can connect with. This isn't necessarily the first person you have. There are also different styles of counselling like CBT or person- centred. These different approaches can work very differently depending on the person. I guess there's no harm in seeing if they can support you :)
    Scope

• onelife
    I just feels a little but like trial and error until I actually get relief from this. 
  • Chloe_Scope
    I can imagine @onelife! I hope the next person is more suited to supporting you :)
    Scope

• onelife
    To be honest I think I have given up getting help with the anxiety. 
  • Chloe_Scope
    I'm sorry you feel that way @onelife, please to reach out if you need any support though. We will always be listening :)
    Scope

• onelife
    edited June 2019
    Is it alright to ignore swearing and rudeness and not be affected by it?
  • Adrian_Scope
    Adrian_Scope Posts: 10,821 Scope online community team
    Hi @onelife, I suppose it’s dependent upon context. If you’re not alright with it though, then it’s not alright.
    Has something happened recently to bother you?

As for finding a therapist that works — it can take time and you won’t always connect on the first attempt, or find someone who feels supportive immediately. I would still try though. I know it seems like an ordeal, but anxiety is better tackled with support.
    Community Manager
    Scope
  • onelife