Back dating llimited capability for work and work related activity — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Back dating llimited capability for work and work related activity

joemarch83
joemarch83 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited January 2020 in Universal Credit (UC)
I have been handing in sick notes at the job centre since march 2018 while claiming universal credit due to an injury from a crash.i had my fit for work assessment about 6 weeks ago and have just received a letter in my journal saying as a result of the assessment I've been awarded limited capability for work and work related activity.
Does anyone know if I will be backdated any money?and if so would it be from june/july 2018?or am I only entitled to the extra money from now on...
Thanks in advance

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,355 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

I'm one of the community champions here on scope and i'm here to help and advise others.

It will depend on when your assessment period is because there's a full 3 month waiting period and then your LCWRA element is paid from the 4th month of your claim because UC is paid in arrears. Have you also be sending in fit notes constantly without any gaps?
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • joemarch83
    Yes I've been sending fit notes since march 2018 with no gaps
  • poppy123456
    edited January 2020
    Thanks but you still haven't answered the other question. When is your assessment period?  and what date did you send your first fit note.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
  • joemarch83