Do you wish there was a product for that? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Do you wish there was a product for that?

Options
James Devlin
James Devlin Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hi Everyone,

My name is James and I am a final year design student at the University of Huddersfield. I have a passion to help those with disability ever since my father became disabled and then sadly passed away last year.

I would love to devote a year of my time to developing a product that could really help someone. That's where you come in!

Do you have any problems with current assistive technology or do you wish there was a product for a specific task? Let me know on here.

I am in a unique position at the moment with lots of resources and time to devote to this project and therefore would love to help out this community that I have been a part of for a few years.

Thank you,

James

Disclaimer: By choosing to reply to this thread you are agreeing for me to confidentially use the data in my project. If you would like any more information about what I am doing with the information which you post please ask me and I will be happy to tell you.

Comments

• Geo08
    Geo08 Community member Posts: 49 Courageous
    Options
    Hi James,

I wrote a post further down on this forum about assistive technology 'wishes'. Personally I think the bathroom is particularly important to many people with disabilities due to the highly private nature of tasks we undertake there. It is hoever certainly due for an update.

Personally I find showering independantly very tiring but It is difficult to accept help of this nature from someone else. I'd therefore love a product which would allow me to get (pproperly) washed while just aitting.

Is this something that is within the scope of your project as I'm sure it could help many people aside from myself particularly when care budgets are being slashed.

Thanks,
    George